The Tara Thorpe mysteries

In December I was thrilled to sign a three-book deal with Bookouture for a new murder mystery series set in Cambridge. You can read the announcement here.

The first book, Murder on the Marshes is out now, and you can pick up a copy here.

Murder on the Marshes - square graphic 1

They were deep in the fens. The peat soil all around was black, criss-crossed with channels of deep, dark water. It was known to send people mad, this creeping feeling of endless space and loneliness. Tara shivered. This would be the ideal place for someone to kill you and make it look like an accident…

As the sun rises, a young woman – Samantha Seabrook – is found drowned in the ornamental fountain of a deserted Cambridge courtyard, the only clue – an antique silver chain wound tightly around her throat.

It’s Tara Thorpe’s job to discover what happened to Miss Seabrook – but the case becomes personal when she learns that Samantha had been receiving death threats… rather like the one that landed on Tara’s doorstep the night the woman died.

Together with DI Garstin Blake, Tara tracks the killer to the dank and dangerous fens on the outskirts of the city. But there’s something Tara isn’t telling Blake about her past – and it could make all the difference to whether they live… or die.
A gripping and atmospheric mystery that will keep you reading long into the night. Perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Joy Ellis and L. J. Ross.


And I’m delighted to announce that you can now also pre-order the second book in the series, Death on the River. Publication day is 17th October 2018.

Death on the River - square graphic

When a body is pulled from the dank and dangerous fens on the outskirts of town, everybody assumes it was a tragic accident. But Detective Tara Thorpe, newly joined and determined to prove herself, suspects there’s more to the story.

Tara is desperate to investigate further, but her supervisor Patrick Wilkins has other ideas. He would rather die than let this ambitious upstart show him up – even if it means some digging in Tara’s secret past to keep her under his thumb. After all, it’s not like he can report her – everyone knows that his boss Detective Garstin Blake and Tara have a history…

When another body is found, it becomes clear that there’s a killer on the loose. Could the murders be linked to the secrets that Tara has been keeping from her team… and can she solve the case before another innocent dies?

Advertisements