The Eve Mallow mysteries

My new heroine, Eve, is an obituary writer. The idea for her came after listening to a fascinating interview with Margalit Fox, who fulfilled that role for the New York Times. It got me thinking about the unique insight obituary writers must get into a dead person’s personality and how they were viewed by others. It seemed like the perfect profession for an amateur sleuth! The Suffolk (UK) setting harks back to happy childhood holidays. My grandmother lived there, by the sea, and Eve’s dog Gus is based on her wire-haired dachshund, Huw.

The first in the series, Mystery on Hidden Lane, publishes on 30th January 2020, and is available to pre-order now for 99p/99c on Kindle! (The paperback addition will appear on the same page in late January.)

Meet Eve Mallow: an American far from home, a professional busybody… and an amateur detective?

Seasoned obituary writer Eve Mallow has a new assignment: to tell the life story of famed musician Bernard Fitzpatrick. A chance to spend a few days in the sweet little village of Saxford St Peter, walking the country lanes with her beloved dachshund Gus and meeting new people sounds like a dream. But it turns out that Bernard’s life was much less interesting than his death. On the day she arrives, news breaks that the charismatic cellist was the victim of a grisly murder. Could this quaint English village be hiding a dark secret?

As Eve starts to interview Bernard’s friends and colleagues, she finds that he’d ruffled a few feathers. In fact, from the keepers of the Cross Keys Inn to his own staff at High House, there’s barely a person in town who doesn’t have some reason to hate him… is one of the friendly villagers a cold-blooded killer?

Eve hoped Saxford St Peter would be the perfect escape from her busy city life. But there is darkness even in the most sunlit of settings. And when a second body is found, Eve becomes certain that one of the people she’s met must be the murderer. She has never done any detective work before… but is there something in her notes that can crack the case?

An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

A flavour of the Eve Mallow mysteries

For anyone who knows Suffolk, I’ve created a fictional village – Saxford St Peter – for the series, but I’ve pinched elements of Blythburgh, Dunwich and Walberswick. The pub in the slideshow above is the wonderful White Hart Inn in Blythburgh.