Blog splash: #GirlInTrouble by @RhodaBaxter

As a Rhoda Baxter fan, I’m delighted to be taking part in a blog splash today to celebrate the publication of her new book, Girl in Trouble. Rhoda’s given me a prompt related to the theme of the book to drive this post, but first of all, here’s the cover, blurb and buy link!

Girl in Trouble cover 3 w quote

Blurb

Grown up tomboy Olivia doesn’t need a man to complete her. Judging by her absent father, men aren’t that reliable anyway. She’s got a successful career, good friends and can evict spiders from the bath herself, so she doesn’t need to settle down, thanks.

Walter’s ex is moving his daughter to America and Walter feels like he’s losing his family. When his friend-with-benefits, Olivia, discovers she’s pregnant by her douchebag ex, Walter sees the perfect chance to be part of a family with a woman he loves. But how can Walter persuade the most independent woman he’s ever met to accept his help, let alone his heart?

Girl In Trouble is the third book in the award nominated Smart Girls series by Rhoda Baxter. If you like charming heroes, alpha heroines and sparkling dialogue, you’ll love this series. Ideal for fans of Sarah Morgan, Lindsey Kelk or Meg Cabot’s Boy books. Buy now and meet your new favourite heroine today.

Buy link (This should take you to your preferred online bookstore.)

[The book is on sale for 99p on the 9th and 10th of October, after which it’ll climb up to 2.99. If you buy in the first week, you get some early bird bonuses – a short story collection and a booklet containing recipes for the snacks mentioned in Girl Having A Ball.]

I’m off to buy my copy now; the premise sounds great and I definitely want those recipes!

So I’m already intrigued by Walter, but according to Rhoda, as well as liking Olivia, he’s pretty keen on hydrothermal vents. He finds them beautiful, but no one else does. So Rhoda’s prompt for this blog post is What is your obscure love/ guilty pleasure, and why?

In answer, I’m going to pick…

marmalade

When it comes to marmalade I’m with Paddington Bear. It has to be the dark sort, quite bitter, with plenty of peel in it. I love it on toast of course – on anything from a good slice of granary to farmhouse white – but I also like it made into cake and puddings. Here’s one from Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall:

And then, recently, my friend Margaret pointed me in the direction of this blog post, with a recipe for a marmalade cocktail, as well as a book recommendation. Thanks, Margaret! I made the cocktail and it was fantastic! I shall try the book next.

I can also recommend cheese and marmalade on toast. I know. But just try it…

Besides, it is actually a thing.

But enough of all this. You can find out more about Rhoda and her previous books by following these links:

www.rhodabaxter.com – smart romantic comedy

Girl Having A Ball (Choc Lit) *Shortlisted for RoNA award (Best Romantic Comedy) 2017*

Please Release Me (Choc Lit) Shortlisted for a Love Stories 2015 award.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Blog splash: #GirlInTrouble by @RhodaBaxter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s